ホーム > データベース > Ten Oxherding Pictures


Ten Oxherding Pictures

Introduction to the Ten Oxherding Pictures

The ten pictures with master Kuoan's poems

1. Looking for the Ox 2. Noticing the Footprints 3. Catching Sight 4. Getting Hold of the Ox

5. Taming the Ox 6. Riding home 7. Ox vanished, herdsman remaining 8. Ox and herdsman vanished

9. Returning to the Source 10. Entering the Marketplace

The pictures of this series are of Japanese origin (1689; courtesy of Michel Mohr).
The poems are by the Chinese Zen master Kuoan (jap. Kakuan).
The English translation of the poems is © by Urs App (1996)

page top

  Last Update: 2002/11/01